LGBT*IQ Awards 2021

BIG IMPACT INITIATIVE AWARD:
queerbw

QueerBw was heavily engaged in the rehabilitation of homosexual soldiers. After §175 was deleted from the penal code in 1994 and homosexuality was thus completely decriminalised under German law, homosexuality nevertheless remained an aptitude criterion for the Bundeswehr until the year 2000. Those affected were excluded from service from the outset or had to put up with demotions and dismissals if they did not conceal their sexual orientation or were outed. A good 20 years later, under the enormous influence of QueerBw, the draft law for the SoldRehaHomG (‘Law for the Rehabilitation of Soldiers Discriminated Against in Service Law because of Consensual Homosexual Acts, because of their Homosexual Orientation or because of their Gender Identity’) was implemented into law. This will both overturn past judgements and compensate the persons affected, as well as in the case of discrimination under service law, for example through transfer to lower positions. The network supported the process towards the law through content-related work, networking with politicians and numerous campaigns that raise awareness of the issue.

RISING STAR AWARD:
LGBT*IQ & Friends @ rwe

The still young network has already been able to establish a wide range of offers in terms of education, counselling and public relations. For example, the network promoted the publication of a trans* guideline that accompanies employees in transition as well as managers and colleagues. Particularly noteworthy is the broad support from all areas and levels of the group, from pit workers to the board level.

GLOBAL LEADER NETWORK AWARD:
Encompass Pride

ABB’s Encompass Pride has almost 800 members worldwide. During Pride Month 2021, the network initiated around 25 events worldwide, reaching thousands of employees. Internally, the network focuses on raising awareness, for example through unconscious bias training and an Ally Guide translated into six languages. Also present in heteronormative countries, the network combines locally tailored approaches with global goals.

sustainability AWARD:
proud heroes

The actions of Proud Heroes impress with their consistent orientation towards the needs of queer employees – on the basis of annual surveys. The network also knows how to anchor the implemented measures in all levels and processes of the company and thus create binding guidelines, for example on transitions, discrimination or secondments abroad. This paves the way for long-term and sustainable change towards LGBT*IQ equal opportunities in the workplace.

LGBT*IQ Awards 2021

BIG IMPACT INITIATIVE AWARD:
queerbw

QueerBw war maßgeblich an der Rehabilitierung homosexueller Soldaten beteiligt. Nachdem 1994 der §175 aus dem Strafgesetzbuch gestrichen wurde und Homosexualität damit nach deutschen Recht komplett entkriminalisiert war, blieb Homosexualität dennoch bis ins Jahr 2000 Eignungskriterium für die Bundeswehr. Betroffene Personen waren von vornherein vom Dienst ausgeschlossen, bzw. mussten Degradierungen und Kündigungen in Kauf nehmen, sofern sie ihre sexuelle Orientierung nicht verheimlichten, bzw. geoutet wurden. Gut 20 Jahre später konnte unter enormem Einfluss von QueerBw der Gesetzesentwurf für das SoldRehaHomG (‚Gesetz zur Rehabilitierung der wegen einvernehmlicher homosexueller Handlungen, wegen ihrer homosexuellen Orientierung oder wegen ihrer geschlechtlichen Identität dienstrechtlich benachteiligten Soldatinnen und Soldaten‘) in geltendes Recht umgesetzt werden. Damit werden sowohl vergangene Urteile aufgehoben und die betroffenen Personen entschädigt, ebenso wie bei dienstrechtlichen Benachteiligungen, etwa durch Versetzung in niedere Positionen. Den Prozess hin zum Gesetz unterstütze das Netzwerk sowohl durch inhaltliche Arbeit, Vernetzung mit der Politik und zahlreiche Aktionen, die für das Thema sensibilisierten.

RISING STAR AWARD:
LGBT*IQ & Friends @ rwe

Das noch junge Netzwerk konnte bereits eine breite Palette an Angeboten hinsichtlich Aufklärung, Beratung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit etablieren. Beispielsweise trieb das Netzwerk die Veröffentlichung einer trans* Guideline voran, die Mitarbeiter_innen in Transition ebenso wie Führungskräfte und Kolleg_innen begleitet. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die breite Unterstützung durch alle Bereiche und Ebenen des Konzerns, von Tagebaumitarbeiter_innen bis hin zur Vorstandsebene.

GLOBAL LEADER NETWORK AWARD:
Encompass Pride

Encompass Pride von ABB zähl weltweit knapp 800 Mitglieder. Im Pride Month 2021 initiierte das Netzwerk weltweit rund 25 Veranstaltungen und erreichte so tausende Mitarbeiter_innen. Intern setzt das Netzwerk auf Sensibilisierung: etwa durch Unconscious Bias Trainings und einen in sechs Sprachen übersetzten Ally Guide. Auch in stark heteronormativ geprägten Ländern präsent, vereint das Netzwerk lokal zugeschnittene Ansätze mit globalen Zielen.

sustainability AWARD:
proud heroes

Die Aktionen von Proud Heroes bestechen durch ihre konsequente Ausrichtung an den Bedürfnissen der queeren Mitarbeiter_innen – auf Basis von jährlichen Befragungen. Das Netzwerk versteht es zudem, die umgesetzten Maßnahmen in allen Ebenen und Prozessen des Unternehmens zu verankern und so verbindliche Richtlinien zu schaffen, beispielsweise zu Transitionen, Diskriminierung oder Entsendungen ins Ausland. Damit ebnet es den Weg für langfristigen und nachhaltigen Wandel hin zu LGBT*IQ-Chancengleichheit am Arbeitsplatz.