Ise Bosch

Ise Bosch is the founder and CEO of Dreilinden gGmbH in Hamburg, an organisation that advocates for the rights of lesbian, bi, trans* and inter people, women, and girls, and a co-founder of the women’s foundation filia.die frauenstiftung.

The certified eco investment advisor publicly supports a responsible and sustainable wealth management. In 2003, she and other women founded a network for heiresses, Erbinnen-Netzwerk Pecunia e. V. Her book “Besser spenden! Ein Leitfaden für nachhaltiges Engagement” (“Donating better! A guide to sustainable commitment”) was published in 2007, “Geben mit Vertrauen” (“Giving with Trust”) in 2018. She received the Transformative Philanthropy Award of the Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice in New York City and the German Female Founders’ Prize.
Copyright: Lucas Wahl

 

PROUT AT WORK (PAW): Ms Bosch, why are you and your organisation Dreilinden advocating for LGBT*IQ people worldwide?

Ise Bosch: The question really should be: Why aren’t more people and institutions advocating for them?

LGBTIQ people are among the most at-risk social groups by any measure. Trans women are almost fifty times more likely to be HIV positive than the population average, for example, and hardly anyone makes more suicide attempts than young LGBTQ people. Yet Dreilinden is one of only two foundations in Germany specialising in this field and supporting it internationally. German funding for this cause worldwide – including public subsidies – amounted to a modest 3.1 Mio. Euros in 2016. This includes 684.000 Euros from Dreilinden, which is more than the Ministry for Development is dedicating to the issue.

 

PAW: One of the issues we will discuss at our 2018 PROUT AT WORK Conference is the situation of LGBT*IQ people in Russia as well as in Africa and the Arab world. Where do you see differences in working towards equality within the various global regions? Where do you see commonalities?

Ise Bosch: Any answer to this will have to be very general, and there will always be counter examples. But we generally find that cultures with a strong religious influence tend to reject gender diversity – not just Islam, but Catholic and evangelical Christian religions as well. So-called persecutor states with severe legal discrimination up to and including the death penalty for sexual acts between men can mostly be found in formerly colonised countries. The roots of persecution stem from colonial times – their moral laws are often still those of the colonial powers! They are an enormously powerful legacy of missionary work – by us Europeans. Structural social discrimination makes life for queer people just as dangerous as legal discrimination – in particular if a culture is strongly patriarchal, like many societies in the former Eastern Bloc, notably in Russia, Ukraine and the Central Asian republics. And where a society closes itself off and becomes more nationalistic and militaristic, gender binarity is enforced, and that invariably happens at the expense of sexually and gender-diverse people.

PAW: In your view, is there a corporate responsibility for LGBT*IQ people worldwide?

Ise Bosch: Of course! For one thing, it is simply part of their responsibility for their employees – whether these belong to the “community” themselves, or their friends or relatives do, or they simply want the freedom to grow as individuals. Companies obviously have an interest in their employees’ wellbeing, not just because productivity will suffer otherwise but simply because of their responsibility as employers. And that means they also have an interest in more liberal laws. The fact that some employees cannot be posted to Singapore because of its discriminating laws is unacceptable. But as long as these laws and social taboos exist, these employees need points of contacts within their companies who can advise them confidentially. To do this, companies must make their support for diversity and their efforts to gain the required expertise very clear. After all, it’s not just about the small number of gay and lesbian people or the even smaller number of trans and inter people, it’s about development opportunities for everyone. Sociology now knows that significantly more people change their sexual orientation during their lifetime than previously assumed.

PAW: In a 2016 study, the Center for Talent Innovation stated that companies should not underestimate the influence of their economic power in the struggle for legal equal opportunities for LGBT*IQ people. Where do you see concrete scope for action for globally operating companies?

Ise Bosch: In at least two respects: First of all, they can offer non-discriminatory jobs, and, in case of a conflict, protection. Secondly, they have very special access to local administrations, governments etc. Not just for formal interventions – via their connections as well. Powerful “expatriates” in particular meet people with all kinds of influence and can, or could, provide assistance like almost nobody else. Not just in emergency situations, obviously, but with regards to broadening horizons as well, through their more liberal attitude. Homophobia and transphobia have a strong component of plain ignorance – people aren’t familiar with the issue, they have questions, but they don’t ask them openly because they feel insecure and are afraid of some kind of “contagion”. We have to create situations that allow legitimate questions to be asked, and we need to answer them. Naturally, a face-to-face conversation and a confidential setting are the best way to do this. People with a certain standing are also in a position to change biographies for the better, even if they aren’t part of the “community”.

PAW: We live in ambivalent times. In the fourth edition of your Rainbow Philanthropy, you described both a growing understanding that discrimination against LGBT*IQ people is unjust and the fact that their situation is becoming no less, if not more, precarious. What can each of us do individually to make the world a better place for LGBT*IQ people?

Ise Bosch: Dismantle what’s left of our own prejudices! Dare to ask our own critical questions: At what point do I get embarrassed, where do my fears lie? And then speak out publicly regardless. And build real friendships. Personal friendships are an irreplaceable asset in being able to stand up for people who are different with regards to gender or sexuality. And much of it is transferrable, it applies to China just as much as it does to Chemnitz.

PAW: What do you think the future holds for the equality of LGBT*IQ human rights?

Ise Bosch: As far as this issue is concerned, globalisation is particularly powerful, and certainly irreversible. People have always expressed themselves diversely with regards to gender – but now it gets captured everywhere across our media and thus becomes visible. I expect a back and forth battle for many, many years to come, between those who feel threatened and fight this diversity, and young people who simply are who they are. However, their tools have become more powerful. I believe that in the not too distant future, “community” and help will be accessible for all gender-diverse people in some way. Even if our democratic systems are currently becoming increasingly precarious – this medial, lived diversity won’t go away. For individuals, this will be a massive step forward compared to now where most young gender-diverse people still believe they are the only ones with this “defect”.

Ise Bosch

Ise Bosch ist Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin der Dreilinden gGmbH in Hamburg, die sich für die Rechte von lesbischen, bi-, trans* und Inter-Menschen, Frauen und Mädchen einsetzt, und Mitgründerin von filia.die frauenstiftung.

Die zertifizierte Ecoanlageberaterin tritt öffentlich für den verantwortungsvollen und nachhaltigen Umgang mit Vermögen ein. 2003 gründete sie zusammen mit anderen Frauen das Erbinnen-Netzwerk Pecunia e. V. 2007 erschien im Verlag C.H. Beck ihr Buch „Besser spenden! Ein Leitfaden für nachhaltiges Engagement“, 2018 „Geben mit Vertrauen“. 2017 erhielt Ise Bosch den Transformative Philanthropy Award der Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice in New York City und 2018 den Deutschen Stifterinnenpreis.

Bildrechte: Lucas Wahl

 

PROUT AT WORK (PAW): Frau Bosch, warum setzten Sie sich mit Dreilinden für LGBT*IQ-Menschen weltweit ein?

Ise Bosch: Die Frage sollte lauten: warum setzen sich so wenig Menschen und Institutionen hierfür ein.

LGBTIQ-Menschen gehören zu den gefährdetsten sozialen Gruppen überhaupt. Trans-Frauen sind fast fünfzigmal eher HIV positiv als der Durchschnitt der Bevölkerung, beispielsweise, und kaum jemand macht so viele Selbstmordversuche wie LGBTQ Jugendliche. Dennoch ist Dreilinden eine von nur zwei Stiftungen in Deutschland, die auf dieses Thema spezialisiert sind und international fördern. Deutsche Förderungen zu diesem Thema ins Ausland – inklusive öffentlicher Förderungen – beliefen sich 2016 auf bescheidene 3,1 Mio. Euro. Die darin enthaltenen 684.000 Euro von Dreilinden sind mehr als die Summe, die unser Entwicklungsministerium diesem Thema widmet.

 

PAW: Im Rahmen unserer PROUT AT WORK-Konferenz 2018, befassen wir uns unter anderem mit der Situation von LGBT*IQ-Personen in Russland, der arabischen wie auch afrikanischen Welt. Wo sehen Sie Unterschiede in der Gleichstellungsarbeit innerhalb der unterschiedlichen globalen Regionen? Wo sehen Sie Gemeinsamkeiten?

Ise Bosch: Diese Antwort wird hier nur sehr pauschal sein können und es gibt immer Gegenbeispiele. Grundsätzlich ist zu beobachten, dass stark religiös geprägte Kulturen geschlechtliche Vielfalt eher ablehnen – nicht nur der Islam, auch katholische und evangelikalisch-christliche Religionen. Sogenannte Verfolgerstaaten mit starker rechtlicher Diskriminierung bis hin zur Todesstrafe für Sex unter Männern finden sich vermehrt ehemals kolonialisierten Ländern. Die Verfolgung hat einen Hintergrund noch aus der Kolonialzeit – die Sittengesetze sind häufig noch die der Kolonialmächte! Sie sind eine enorm wirkmächtige Hinterlassenschaft der Missionierung – durch uns, die Europäer. Strukturelle gesellschaftliche Diskriminierung macht das Leben für queere Menschen ebenso gefährlich wie rechtliche Diskriminierung – besonders wenn eine Kultur stark patriarchalisch geprägt ist, so wie viele Gesellschaften des ehemaligen Ostblocks, gerade in Russland, der Ukraine und den zentralasiatischen Republiken. Und wenn sich eine Gesellschaft nationalistisch abschottet und militaristischer wird, dann wird die Geschlechter-Binarität forciert, das geht grundsätzlich immer zu Lasten von sexuell und geschlechtlich diversen Menschen.

 

PAW: Gibt es aus Ihrer Sicht eine unternehmerische Verantwortung für LGBT*IQ Menschen weltweit?

Ise Bosch: Natürlich, schon allein aus Verantwortung für die Mitarbeitenden – ob sie nun selbst zur „community“ gehören oder Angehörige oder Freund_innen dort haben oder einfach die Möglichkeit haben wollen, sich persönlich frei zu entwickeln. Unternehmen haben natürlich ein Interesse am Wohlergehen ihrer Mitarbeiter_innen, nicht nur weil sonst die Produktivität leidet, sondern einfach so, aus Verantwortung als Arbeitgeber. Und damit haben sie auch ein Interesse an liberaleren Gesetzen. Es ist ein Unding, wenn einzelne Mitarbeiter_innen nicht nach Singapur entsandt werden können, weil es dort diskriminierende Gesetze gibt . Aber solange diese Gesetze und das gesellschaftliche Tabu existieren, brauchen die Mitarbeitenden Ansprechpartner_innen im Unternehmen, die sie vertrauensvoll beraten können. Dazu muß das Unternehmen sehr deutlich klarstellen, daß es Diversität unterstützt und sich um die entsprechende Expertise bemüht. Es geht ja nicht nur um die wenigen lesbischen und schwulen Menschen und die noch weniger trans und inter Personen, es geht um Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten für alle. Die Soziologie weiß inzwischen, dass wesentlich mehr Menschen im Lauf ihrer Biographie die sexuelle Orientierung ändern, als früher angenommen wurde.

 

PAW: Das Center for Talent Innovation proklamierte in einer 2016 veröffentlichten Studie, dass Unternehmen den Einfluss ihrer jeweiligen Wirtschaftsmacht in der Arbeit um rechtliche Chancengleichheit für LGBT*IQ-Personen nicht unterschätzen sollen. Wo sehen Sie konkrete Handlungsmöglichkeiten global agierender Unternehmen?

Ise Bosch: In mindestens zwei Hinsichten: erstens können sie diskriminierungsarme Arbeitsplätze bieten, und im Fall eines Konfliktes auch Schutz. Und zweitens haben sie vor Ort einen ganz besonderen Zugang zur Verwaltung, Regierung, etc. Nicht nur um formell intervenieren zu können – auch über ihre Beziehungen. Gerade mächtige „Expatriates“ begegnen Menschen mit allerhand Einfluss und können, oder könnten, Hilfe leisten wie sonst kaum jemand. Nicht nur in Krisenfällen natürlich, auch im Sinn einer Horizonterweiterung, durch ihre liberalere Einstellung. Homo- und Transphobie hat eine starke Komponente der schlichten Ignoranz – Menschen kennen das Thema schlecht, sie haben Fragen, die sie aber nicht offen stellen, weil sie verunsichert sind und eine Art „Ansteckung“ fürchten. Wir müssen Situationen finden, in denen die legitimen Fragen gestellt werden können, und sie auch beantworten. Das direkte Gespräch ist dafür natürlich das Beste, und eine vertrauensvolle Situation. Auch Menschen, die nicht zur „community“ gehören, aber ein gewisses „Standing“ haben, können hier Biographien positiv verändern.

 

PAW: Wir befinden uns in ambivalenten Zeiten. So beschrieben Sie in der vierten Ausgabe Ihrer Regenbogen-Philanthropie, zum einen das wachsende Verständnis, dass Diskriminierung von LGBT*IQ-Personen Unrecht ist, zum anderen ihre Lage jedoch nicht weniger – wenn nicht sogar zunehmend prekärer wird. Welchen Beitrag kann jede_r einzelne von uns leisten, dass die Welt für LGBT*IQ Menschen etwas besser wird?

Ise Bosch: Die Überreste der eigenen Vorurteile abbauen! Sich trauen, die eigenen kritischen Fragen zu stellen: wo wird’s für mich peinlich, wo sind meine Ängste? Und dann trotzdem öffentlich das Wort ergreifen. Und echte Freundschaften eingehen. Persönliche Freundschaften geben einen unersetzlichen Hintergrund, um für Menschen, die geschlechtlich oder sexuell anders gestrickt sind, auch aufstehen zu können. Und vieles davon ist übertragbar, es gilt in China und in Chemnitz.

 

PAW: Was glauben Sie hält Die Zukunft für die Gleichstellung von LGBT*IQ-Menschenrechten bereit?

Ise Bosch: Die Globalisierung ist hier besonders wirkmächtig und sicherlich unumkehrbar. Menschen haben sich schon immer vielfältig geschlechtlich ausgedrückt – nun wird das überall medial erfasst und damit sichtbar. Ich erwarte auf viele, viele Jahre ein Hin und Her zwischen denen, die sich bedroht fühlen und diese Vielfalt bekämpfen, und jungen Leuten, die einfach sind, wie sie sind. Deren Mittel sind aber stärker geworden. Ich glaube, in einer nicht allzu fernen Zukunft wird „community“ und Hilfe für alle geschlechtlich diversen Menschen irgendwie erreichbar sein. Auch wenn die demokratischen Systeme derzeit immer prekärer werden – diese mediale und gelebte Vielfalt wird sich nicht unterdrücken lassen. Das wird für die Einzelnen ein riesiger Fortschritt sein gegenüber jetzt, wo noch immer die meisten jungen geschlechtlich diversen Menschen glauben, sie wären die einzigen mit diesem „Mangel“.