DINNER 2017 – Claudia Brind-Woody

Frankfurt, 16 October 2017 –

Hearing Claudia Brind-Woody talk about both the necessity and the opportunities of an LGBT*IQ-positive corporate philosophy, it’s hard to avoid an emotional rollercoaster. Knowing smiles appear on the audience’s faces when the Vice President of IBM relates how she was recently told in Japan that there were no gay or lesbian people amongst the employees, and therefore there was no need for action.

After all, the board members and senior executives who have gathered in the tower of Deutsche Bank AG for the DINNER BEYOND BUSINESS this evening at the invitation of the PROUT AT WORK foundation know only too well that that’s not the case. That every large corporation has a talent pool of employees with an LGBT*IQ background, and that far too often it remains untapped.

Just a moment later, Brind-Woody provokes awkward silence among large parts of her audience when her keynote poses the question of who actually has a list of LGBT*IQ top talents in their own company? Only a very few.

When she broadens the question to whether an opportunity for voluntary self-identification as LGBT*IQ exists in their corporation, barely a hand is raised anymore.

While prepared to admit that Germany’s strict privacy laws prevent any such self-identification, Brind-Woody deplores this fact: “If we don’t know who among our employees has an LGBT*IQ background, how are we going to promote them systematically?”

A dinner guest wants to know how to implement mentoring programmes for LGBT*IQ employees without requiring a coming out on their part.

Brind-Woody’s response is surprising but unequivocal: “LGBT*IQ employees need to be courageous as well. It is their decision. However, we need to show them the positive consequences of coming out rather than only associating disadvantages with it the way we have done until now.”

After all, she explains, authentic leadership also means being able to put together teams with a diverse composition.

“A soccer team that only consists of strikers will never win a match. Without the goalie in his flashy colours, it’s just not going to work,” Brind-Woody draws a parallel between business and sports. “After all, business is about winning, too.”

‘Walk the talk’ – following words with deeds

Claudia Brind-Woody has been working for IBM since 1996 and is the corporation’s Vice President as well as Managing Director of Global Intellectual Property Licensing, making her one of the most influential homosexual women in international business and a key figure in many LGBT*IQ organisations. These days, the IT and consulting corporation supports more than 40 of them in 30 countries, and this open attitude is instrumental in an LGBT*IQ-positive corporate philosophy taking root in other companies as well.

In the past few years, Brind-Woody has not just been awarded a number of equal rights awards, she has also been a constant presence in the international rankings of the most influential lesbian personalities. In doing so, she exemplifies what she demands of other corporate leaders and has indeed made the title of her DINNER BEYOND BUSINESS keynote: “Authentic Leadership.”

By that, she means the mandate to legitimise one’s own leadership role through authentic relationships with one’s employees.

“Can I as the supervisor use the words ‘lesbian’ or ‘transgender’ in a way that gives the other person the impression that it’s not a problem to be like that?”

That, she explains, requires a leadership style from the heart, without fear of making oneself vulnerable. But it also requires following words with deeds. Those who declare that diversity in the workplace is important need to do something about it as well.

“What’s the use of having brilliant strategy papers on diversity up here at the top management level when at the same time a homophobic supervisor in middle-management obstructs the professional careers and thus the lives of many of our talents with an LGBT*IQ background?”

Silence and concern fill the hall on the 35th floor as Brind-Woody explains to the executives in the audience why even today, many LGBT*IQ people avoid coming out in their workplace. She tells them about the increasing number of lesbian, gay or trans* children and adolescents in the US who are thrown out of their homes by their parents and driven into homelessness. About the equally increasing suicide rate amongst those teenagers.

“Muslim, Jewish or dark-skinned child may experience bullying in the schoolyards, too. But they come home and receive understanding and support from their families, because their parents are Muslim, Jewish or dark-skinned themselves. However, that usually isn’t the case for parents of lesbian, gay, transgender or genderqueer children.”

In terms of the aspiration for authentic leadership, she says, this means learning to be able to motivate and support employees who are different from ourselves.

Many, herself included, have been too silent in the past when discriminatory decisions were made or hurtful words were chosen. “But silence is not a leadership style,” Brind-Woody summarises succinctly.

At the end of her keynote, she calls on executives to be more courageous and assertive, even if that occasionally means having to go against the flow.

“Of course being successful is wonderful. But doing something meaningful is even better.”

This year, almost 30 board members and senior executives of Lufthansa, Vodafone, IBM, Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank, Fraport, the European Central Bank, Randstad Germany, Accenture, White & Case, Sandoz, Oliver Wyman, Linklaters, Bayer, Procter & Gamble, Hogan Lovells Merck, Mainzer Verkehrsgesellschaft [Public Transport Mainz], KPMG and Google once again accepted the invitation of the PROUT AT WORK foundation to discuss the advantages of diverse and equal-opportunity leadership in a casual atmosphere over dinner.

Video of Claudia Brind-Woody’s speech:

Alle Fotos: © Torsten von Beyme-Wittenbecher

DINNER 2017 – Claudia Brind-Woody

Frankfurt, 16. Oktober 2017 – Wer Claudia Brind-Woody zuhört, wenn sie über die Notwendigkeit und die Chancen einer LGBT*IQ-wertschätzenden Unternehmensphilosophie spricht, kann sich wechselnder Gemütszustände nicht erwehren. Wissendes Schmunzeln lässt sie auf den Gesichtern ihres Publikums erscheinen, wenn sie als Vice President von IBM erzählt, wie man ihr in Japan jüngst berichtet habe, dass es unter den Mitarbeitern keine Schwulen oder Lesben gäbe und somit kein Handlungsbedarf bestünde.
Denn natürlich wissen die Unternehmensvorstände und Senior Executives, die an diesem Abend auf Einladung der PROUT AT WORK-Foundation im Turm der Deutschen Bank AG zum DINNER BEYOND BUSINESS zusammen gekommen sind, dass es nicht so ist. Dass es in jedem großen Unternehmen einen Talentpool von Mitarbeiter_innen mit LGBT*IQ-Background gibt, der noch viel zu oft unerschlossen brach liegt.

Deshalb gelingt es Brind-Woody in ihrer Keynote auch gleich darauf mehrheitlich betretenes Schweigen im Publikum zu erzeugen, indem sie die Frage stellt, wer denn überhaupt über eine Liste der LGBT*IQ-Top-Talente im eigenen Haus verfüge? Nur wenige.

Als sie die Frage erweitert, ob es im Unternehmen die Möglichkeit zur freiwilligen Selbstidentifikation als LGBT*IQ gibt, ist fast keine Hand mehr erhoben.
Brind-Woody bedauert das, räumt aber ein, dass in Deutschland der strikte Datenschutz eine solche Selbstidentifikation verhindere: „Wenn wir nicht wissen, wer unter unseren Angestellten einen LGBT*IQ-Hintergrund hat, wie sollen wir sie dann gezielt fördern?

Auch ein Dinner-Gast fragt, wie man denn Mentoring-Programme für LGBT*IQ-Mitarbeiter_innen auflegen solle, ohne dass damit ein Coming-Out verbunden sei.
Brind-Woodys Antwort darauf ist überraschend aber unmissverständlich: „Auch LGBT*IQ müssen mutig sein. Es ist ihre Entscheidung. Wir müssen ihnen jedoch auch die positiven Effekte des Coming-Out aufzeigen, statt wie bisher nur Nachteile damit zu verbinden.“

Authentisches Führen bedeute eben auch Teams in vielfältiger Zusammensetzung zusammenstellen zu können.
Eine Fußballmannschaft, die nur aus Stürmern besteht, wird nie ein Spiel gewinnen. Ohne den Torwart in seinen grellen Farben funktioniert es nicht“, zieht Brind-Woody die Parallele zwischen Business und Sport. „Auch im Geschäftsleben geht es schließlich ums Gewinnen.“

‚Walk the Talk‘ – den eigenen Worten Taten folgen lassen

Claudia Brind-Woody arbeitet seit 1996 für IBM, ist Vice President des Unternehmens und zugleich Geschäftsführerin des Global Intellectual Property Licensing. Damit ist sie eine der einflussreichsten homosexuellen Frauen in der internationalen Geschäftswelt und eine Schlüsselperson in zahlreichen LGBT*IQ-Organisationen. Mehr als 40 davon fördert das IT- und Beratungsunternehmen mittlerweile in 30 Ländern und trägt durch diese offene Haltung dazu bei, dass sich auch in anderen Unternehmen eine LGBT*IQ-wertschätzende Unternehmensphilosophie etabliert.

In den vergangenen Jahren war Brind-Woody nicht nur Preisträgerin mehrerer Gleichberechtigungspreise sondern auch ständige Vertreterin in den internationalen Rankings der einflussreichsten lesbischen Persönlichkeiten. Damit lebt sie vor, was sie von anderen Unternehmenslenker_innen einfordert und zum Titel ihrer Keynote für das DINNER BEYOND BUSINESS gemacht hat: „Authentic Leadership“.
Darunter versteht sie den Auftrag die eigene Führungsrolle durch authentische Beziehungen zu den Mitarbeiter_innen zu legitimieren.
Kann ich als Vorgesetze_r die Worte ‚lesbisch‘ oder ‚transgender‘ so benutzen, so dass mein Gegenüber den Eindruck hat, dass es kein Problem ist, so zu sein?“

Das setze einen Führungsstil mit dem Herzen voraus, ohne Angst sich dadurch verwundbar zu machen. Aber auch, den eigenen Worten Taten folgen zu lassen. Wer sage, Vielfalt im Arbeitsumfeld sei wichtig, müsse auch etwas dafür tun.
Was hilft es, wenn wir hier oben in der Unternehmensspitze tolle Strategiepapiere zu Diversity haben, aber gleichzeitig ein homophober Manager auf der mittleren Leitungsebene der beruflichen Laufbahn und damit dem Leben vieler unserer Talente mit LGBT*IQ-Background im Wege steht?“

Betroffene Stille füllt den Saal im 35. Stock als Brind-Woody den Führungskräften im Publikum erklärt, weshalb auch heute noch viele LGBT*IQ ein Coming-Out im Beruf vermeiden. Sie erzählt von der steigender Zahl lesbischer, schwuler oder trans* Kinder und Jugendlicher in den USA, die von ihren Eltern aus dem Haus geworfen und in die Obdachlosigkeit getrieben würden. Von der ebenfalls steigenden Selbstmordrate unter diesen Teenagern.
Als muslimisches, jüdisches oder dunkelhäutiges Kind wird man möglicherweise auch auf dem Schulhof gemobbt. Aber man kommt nach Hause und findet bei seiner Familie Verständnis und Unterstützung, denn die Eltern sind selbst muslimisch, jüdisch oder dunkelhäutig. Bei lesbischen, schwulen, transidenten oder genderqueeren Kindern sind es die Eltern aber meistens nicht.“

Übertragen auf den Anspruch authentischer Menschenführung bedeute dies, zu lernen auch Mitarbeiter_innen motivieren und fördern zu können, die anders seien als man selbst.
Viele, auch sie selbst, seien bei benachteiligenden Entscheidungen oder verletzender Wortwahl in der Vergangenheit zu oft still gewesen. „Aber Schweigen ist kein Führungsstil“, bringt es Brind-Woody auf den Punkt.

Am Ende ihrer Keynote ruft sie dazu auf, als Führungskraft wagemutiger und selbstbewusster zu sein, auch wenn das bedeute gelegentlich gegen den Strom schwimmen zu müssen.
Natürlich ist es ist wunderbar erfolgreich zu sein. Aber noch stärker ist es Bedeutsames zu tun.“

Auch in diesem Jahr waren wieder fast 30 Vorstände und Senior Executives von Lufthansa, Vodafone, IBM, Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank, Fraport, Europäischer Zentralbank, Randstad Deutschland, Accenture, White & Case, Sandoz, Oliver, Wyman, Linklaters, Bayer, Procter & Gamble, Hogan Lovells Merck, der Mainzer Verkehrsgesellschaft, KPMG und Google der Einladung der PROUT AT WORK-Foundation gefolgt, um beim Dinner in lockerer Atmosphäre die Vorteile vielfältiger und chancengleicher Mitarbeiter_innenführung zu diskutieren.

Video der Rede von Claudia Brind-Woody:

Alle Fotos: © Torsten von Beyme-Wittenbecher